How to become pilot in india

How to become a pilot in India?


How to become a pilot in India?

1. Educational Requirements

You must have completed your 10+2 education from a recognized board with Physics and Mathematics as compulsory subjects.

2. Medical Fitness

Obtain a Class 1 Medical Certificate from a designated medical practitioner approved by the Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA). This medical examination assesses your physical and mental fitness to fly an aircraft.

3. Choose a Flight Training School

Choose a DGCA approved flight school in India. There are many flying schools across the country, including government funded and private institutions.

4. Enroll for Pilot Training

Join the pilot training program at the chosen flying school. Twp types of pilot training programs are:

1. Student Pilot License (SPL): This is the initial stage of training, where you learn the basics of flying an aircraft. You must have completed at least 20 hours of flying, which includes at least 15 hours of dual flying (with an instructor) and at least 5 hours of solo flying.

The Student Pilot License (SPL) is the initial step toward becoming a certified pilot in many countries. It is generally obtained by individuals under the age of 16 who meet certain medical and citizenship criteria. With SPL, aspiring pilots can receive flight training under the guidance of a Certified Flight Instructor (CFI) and engage in both ground school and flight lessons. Student pilots must follow various restrictions, such as always flying with a CFI, not carrying passengers or accepting compensation, and not flying in challenging conditions. After completing training, passing a written test, and accumulating flight hours, they can progress to a more advanced pilot license. SPL is an essential starting point for those dreaming of touching the sky.

2. Private Pilot License (PPL): After obtaining SPL, you can proceed to PPL stage. This phase includes further training and flight hours. You must have completed a minimum of 60 hours of flight time, including cross-country flights.

A Private Airman License( PPL) is the coming step in the airman’s trip after completing your Pupil Airman License( SPL). With a PPL, individualities admit the honor to fly an aircraft for particular and recreational purposes. This license allows aviators to carry passengers, but not for compensation or hire. To gain a PPL, aspiring fliers must meet flight hour conditions, pass a comprehensive practical test, and demonstrate proficiency in colorful aspects of flying, including navigation, flight planning, and exigency procedures. The PPL represents an important corner in one’s aeronautics career, furnishing the freedom to explore the skies with a high degree of independence and responsibility.

5. Theory Exam

Qualify the theory exam conducted by DGCA which covers topics like Air Navigation, Air Regulation, Meteorology, Aircraft Systems and much more.

6. Flying Hours

Submit the required flying hours as per DGCA rules. Specific flight hour requirements vary depending on the type of pilot license you obtain, such as a commercial pilot license (CPL) or an airline transport pilot license (ATPL).

7. Instrument Rating

Obtain an Instrument Rating (IR), which allows you to fly the aircraft in limited visibility conditions, relying on instruments for navigation.

8. Commercial Pilot License (CPL)

Complete the required flight hours and pass the DGCA exam to obtain the CPL. This license enables you to work as a pilot and get paid for your services.

9. Additional Ratings and Endorsements

You can obtain additional ratings or endorsements, such as a Multi-Engine Rating (MER), Flight Instructor Rating (FIR), or Type Rating for specific aircraft types.

10. Job Opportunities

After obtaining your CPL, you can apply for pilot job vacancies in various aviation organizations, airlines or government agencies. Networking and making contacts in the aviation industry can also enhance your career prospects.


To become a pilot in India, follow these steps: First, complete your 10+2 education with focus on Physics and Mathematics. Then, choose a DGCA approved flight training school for your formal pilot training. Start with Private Pilot License (PPL) course where you will learn the basics of flying. After that, move on to a Commercial Pilot License (CPL) program, which includes more advanced flight training and instrument flying. Obtain the required flight hours, usually around 200 hours, often by working as a flight instructor or in other aviation roles. Finally, pass the CPL exam and meet all the DGCA requirements to get your Commercial Pilot License and pursue a career in aviation.

For More Information

Remember that procedures and requirements may be subject to change, therefore it is advised to refer to the latest guidelines issued by DGCA and consult reputed flight schools in India for latest information.